Snob Scrilla: Snob appeal

20 Jul
Snob Scrilla

Snob Scrilla

“I’m a totally random kid,” MC Sean Ray aka Snob Scrilla laughs down the phone from Melbourne. “I always describe the album as being a kid with ADD lost in space, which is pretty much what it sounds like.”

His debut album, Day One released last month, energetically blends electro beats, hip hop and indie rock. Scrilla jumps seamlessly from one topic to the next, rhyming about his personal relationships or societal issues, never focusing on anything for too long.

“It was always something I knew I wanted to do, this conceptual character, this alias thing with Snob Scrilla,” he says. “I always had this direction and idea, but I never knew what the sound was going to be until about a year ago.”

Ray was born in California, but moved to Sydney when he was 18 and ended up staying there for seven years. He recently moved back to the US, but now travels back and forth. “Nowhere is home at the current time being.”

His musical history began singing solos in the church choir and, even though he got into hip hop and writing rhymes from a young age, it wasn’t until about five years ago that he started taking music seriously – doing freestyles on Universal Music’s Blazin’ compilations and working with ARIA award-winning record producer Audius.

Day One reflects where he is right now.

“I’ve moved on a bit from some of the tracks I’ve written on there,” he explains. “But it’s a pretty good reflection of the things that come together to make me as a person. I’m so pedantic and such a control freak, it’s not often that I look back and go, ‘oh I really wish I did this or that’, it’s just done. And I don’t spend too much time dwelling on what I’ve done; I move on to the next thing pretty quickly.”

On the track Houston, Ray muses on a world in crisis, where politicians are too busy to recognise the troubles being faced by the everyday person.

“I think it’s important to bring issues to light and I think it’s equally important to not force an opinion on people,” he says. “I don’t think you should be preaching on a soapbox, but I think music is one of the tangible points of self-reflection. I think it’s really important in music to discuss these things.”

He’s not scared to be brutally honest about his personal relationships either. On latest single Heartbreak Scorsese he rhymes, “Love music more than her/And that’s why she deserted me… Every time they love me/I break ‘em in the end”.

“I’m crap in relationships,” he laughs. “It’s an acknowledgement for past relationships. When I wrote There You Go Again (on The Day Before EP) my ex got such a bad rap and I felt bad about that ’cause that was just triggered from one moment really, it’s not a reflection on her. So I wanted a song that was more honest about how the relationship was I guess.”

The Plug: Day One is out now

[As published in The Wire, The West Australian, Issue 05, 25.06.09]

Leave a Reply

